top of page
  • Writer's pictureSan

Netgalley ARC Review: Lifeline to Marionette by Jennifer Waitte

Updated: May 27, 2021



Book Details:

Author: Jennifer Waitte

Series: Standalone

Genres: General Fiction (Adult), Women's Fiction

Page Count: 290 pages

Publisher: Madim Larcy Literary

Published: September 22nd 2020


Blurb:

A lonely childhood, a haunted past, a secret, and a life controlled by others--she is a woman at the end of her rope, without hope.


Alaina Michelle Sekovich is the daughter of Europe's most famous living composer. Once his prodigy, they are now estranged. To the world, she is Michelle Seko, a multimedia star and valuable asset of the film and fashion industries.


Michelle was a gifted yet troubled child who sought only to see the suffocating world of her father's overbearing tutelage. She thought she could change her life by becoming someone else. But when her world becomes herself looking back at her and the face that is her own is a monster she does not know, she finds there is no place she can go, nowhere she can hide, because what she wants to escape from most is the one thing she can never be truly free of--herself.


Lifeline to Marionette is a story about what life under a microscope can do to the soul. It is a story about a young woman whose every move is determined by the people who control her. Their strings are fine but unbreakable, and they pull her painfully in opposing directions until she can no longer bear their tension.


Lifeline to Marionette begins where Michelle's life is nearest its end. It is a story of exploitation, greed, death, drugs, and secrecy, of familial bonds and human frailty. It is a story about cutting strings and accepting the fall.


My Review:-

Thanks NetGalley and the Author for giving me the opportunity to read this book.

I looooooved this book and finished it almost completely in one go.


I remember being so distraught that I could not found this book on Goodreads after finishing up the ARC. Now that this is here, I am too exhausted to write a review for now.


This was one of the last ARCs that I had read last year and believe me when I say this, I ended up not reading or reviewing any of my remaining ARCs and many of them were a DNF. What followed was a period of reading slump marked only by watching movies, kdramas and studies and staying away from novels. Eventually though I got back to reading novels again(I mean obvio). I do not know whether this sudden "ebook reading slump" was the result of reading this book or the sudden mounting pressure of online classrooms that made me loath to look at any kind of "reading material" onscreen that was not chat messages(I WAS FULLY DOWN FOR READING PHYSICAL COPY OF BOOKS) or a combination of both. However, this book really drained me(in a good way?!)


That being said, I am absolutely going to buy a physical copy of this book one day!


Final Thoughts?

I'll just say this one thing for potential readers of this book: *this book is heavy stuff*; so I would advise you not to read it if you don't wanna find yourself emotionally drained. Pick it up when your mind is at peace/calm tbh.


Goodreads Review Link:


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page